October 2020


Beginnings, Middles, and Ends…







Three Melodies                                                                                                          Steven Juliani (b. 1960)


Lies You Can Believe In                                                                                              Missy Mazzoli (b. 1980)

Movement for String Trio                                                               Coleridge-Taylor Perkinson (1932-2004)

String Trio in G major, Op.9 No.1                                                       Ludwig van Beethoven (1770—1827)

Adagio - Allegro con brio
Adagio ma non tanto e cantabile
Scherzo – Allegro


Sasha Callahan, violin

Alexander Vavilov, viola

Leo Eguchi, cello


How does time express itself through us? Both Beethoven’s String Trio in G Major and Missy Mazzoli’s Lies You Can Believe In were authored by the composers while only in their 20’s. The works both possess a youthful exuberance that cannot be manufactured…Mazzoli’s expresses a cool, modern Rock and Roll edge, while Beethoven’s dances with pure old world joy. Steve Juliani is an incredibly accomplished musician but only found his voice as a composer mid-career, not long before he wrote his Three Melodies for Leo and Sasha. The piece is lyrical and poignant, full of questions and dialogue. Coleridge-Taylor Perkinson, the great African American innovator, penned his poetic Movement for String Trio from his death bed. At the end of a life full of music—Jazz, classical, pop, film, conducting, composing, performing—his final work is reflective and touching.

Through the same medium of the string trio, all four of these artists have given us a deeply honest expression of life and their stage in time. When taken together, each shows us a different facet of our humanity…our delights, our struggles and our hopes.